AAMI Foundation's Laufman-Greatbatch Award


This is AAMI's most prestigious award. Named after two pioneers in the field—Harold Laufman, MD and Wilson Greatbatch, PhD—this highly regarded award honors an individual or group that has made a unique and significant contribution to the advancement of healthcare technology and systems, service, patient care, or patient safety.

Candidates must demonstrate:

  • A significant, singular, and global impact on the advancement of patient care or patient safety through the advancement, development, enhancement, or creation of a specific medical device, technology, system, or service.
  • Groups or individuals who have made critical contributions to the enhancement of patient care through technology are eligible to receive this award.

The award includes a $5,000 check and a plaque to be presented at the AAMI Exchange.

Now accepting 2024 Award applicationssubmit your nomination here! The deadline is Friday, Jan. 19, 2024. For more information, contact awards@aami.org


View previous award winners here


2023 Award Winner

  • Ajit P. Yoganathan, Ph.D.

    Dr. Ajit P. Yoganathan, Emeritus Regents’ Professor and the Wallace H. Coulter Distinguished Faculty Chair in the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory University