AAMI Foundation & Institute for Technology in Health Care Clinical Solution Award

This award honors a healthcare technology professional (individual or group) that has applied innovative clinical engineering practices or principles to solve one or more significant clinical patient care problems or challenges facing a patient population, community, or group.

Candidates must demonstrate:

  • Innovative and creative application of clinical engineering practices that fundamentally solved a problem or challenge that resulted in the improvement of healthcare delivery for (or well-being of) a patient population, community, or group.
  • That a solution was developed by an individual or group that works or is employed in a clinical setting (hospital, ambulatory clinic, learning institution, or other healthcare setting).

Candidates should demonstrate:

  • The results of a study that provides a practical solution of a patient care problem or challenge through the application of clinical engineering ingenuity. This should be a “published” study but not required.
  • That the solution can be applied by the broader medical or healthcare technology management (HTM) field in multiple clinical settings for the benefit of multiple patient populations, communities, or groups.
  • That the solution involved multiple disciplines or healthcare professionals including, but not limited to, information technology specialists, nurses, physicians, medical technicians, researchers, etc.
  • A solid and clear example of intention to promote the continued advancement of HTM applications and innovations to specific patient care problems or challenges.

Thanks to the generous support of the Institute for Technology in Health Care (ITHC), this award includes a check for $1,500 and a plaque that will be presented at the 2020 AAMI Exchange in New Orleans, LA.

The deadline for 2020 nominations is January 17, 2020. To submit a nomination, fill out this online form.

For more information, contact awards@aami.org

The AAMI Foundation & ITHC Clinical Solution Award Winners

  • 2019 - JoAnne Phillips, DNP, RN, CNS, CPPS
  • 2018 – Bebbe Healthcare Multidisciplinary Team
  • 2017 – Regenstrief National Center for Medical Device Informatics (REMEDI) Infusion Pump Collaborative Project Team
  • 2016 – James Piepenbrink
  • 2015 – Texas Children's Hospital Alarm Management Team
  • 2014 – Robert D. Butterfield
  • 2013 – Lancaster General Hospital and Hospira
  • 2013 – Monitor Research Team, Children's National Medical Center
  • 2011 – James P. Welch and George T. Blike, MD
  • 2010 – Elliot B. Sloane, PhD, CCE, FHIMSS
  • 2009 – Julian M. Goldman, MD
  • 2006 – Thomas M. Judd, CCE
  • 2005 – Antonio Hernandez


2019 Award Recipient

JoAnne Phillips

JoAnne Phillips, DNP, RN, CNS, CPPS

This year’s winner, JoAnne Phillips, has played an integral role in developing multidisciplinary approaches to reducing alarm fatigue and has championed the significant, but often overlooked, role that nurses play in the delivery of safe and effective patient care. Phillips is a member of the AAMI Foundation’s National Coalition for Alarm Management Safety and a recognized leader in the nationwide effort to improve alarm management in hospitals. She has published foundational articles on alarm management issues in clinical settings and the related patient safety problem of alarm fatigue. Phillips also led the development of the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists’ alarm fatigue toolkit, which includes a comprehensive list of alarm management competencies, case studies for hands-on learning, and resources for evaluation.


For more information, contact awards@aami.org.