For Immediate Release
January 4, 2018
Amber Logan, 703-253-8262

AAMI President Named to ANSI Board of Directors

Robert Jensen
Robert Jensen

AAMI President and CEO Robert Jensen has been named a director-at-large by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors. Jensen, who was nominated to fill a vacated position, began his one-year term on Jan. 1.

“I am deeply honored to have been selected as an ANSI director-at-large and look forward to working with the rest of the Board toward advancing ANSI’s significant and valuable mission,” Jensen said. “Standards are a fundamental component of promoting quality and safety in a multitude of industries, and AAMI is proud of its standards-setting role in the world of health technology.”

ANSI is a nonprofit organization that promotes, facilitates, and safeguards the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. AAMI was accredited by ANSI as a National Standards Organization in 1977 and published its first ANSI-recognized American National Standard in 1978.

Eleven other individuals were elected to the ANSI Board as directors-at-large for terms beginning in 2018:

  • Christian Dubay, National Fire Protection Association
  • Patricia Edwards, Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Gordon Gillerman, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Edward Manns, NACE International
  • Scott McGrath, OASIS
  • Rae McQuade, North American Energy Standards Board
  • Paul Moliski, Intertek
  • Elise Owen, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Alain Turenne, Walgreen Company
  • David Weinstein, CSA Group
  • Timothy West, Deere & Company

“The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to all of these individuals for their many contributions and efforts in support of the Institute and the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community,” ANSI said in a statement.

AAMI ( is a nonprofit organization founded in 1967. It is a diverse community of approximately 7,000 healthcare technology professionals united by one important mission—supporting the healthcare community in the development, management, and use of safe and effective healthcare technology.