AAMI & Becton Dickinson's Patient Safety Award



2022 Award Winners

  • Nick Muhlenbruch, MS

    Nick is a biomedical engineer at the Office of Healthcare Technology Management, Department of Veterans Affairs.

This award recognizes outstanding achievements by healthcare professionals who have made a significant advancement toward the improvement of patient safety.

Candidates must demonstrate:

  • Dedication to improving the quality of healthcare and patient safety.
  • Current and direct involvement with a specific safety initiative to improve the safety of clinical technology or its use in healthcare.
  • A commitment to patient safety by writing articles, participating in committees, and/or speaking at educational events on patient safety-related topics involving technology.

Candidates should demonstrate:

  • Examples of their projects that were implemented to improve clinician technology challenges, thus supporting overall improvement in patient care.
  • Leadership in advancing the quality of healthcare and patient safety in their own organizations.
  • Involvement in supporting improvements to patient safety by participating in national, state, or local patient safety organizations or programs. (e.g., speaker, author, dissemination of best practices).
  • Special recognition by their employer for contributions to patient safety.


Nominators may submit evidence of activities relevant to this award and to the candidate's achievements. This award includes a plaque and a $1,500 check to be presented at the AAMI Exchange.

The deadline for 2022 submissions has passed. For more information, contact awards@aami.org.

View previous winners here.