# 2024 AAMI Nominees - Summary Bios

#### Ms. Heidi Horn (Chair-Elect, Board of Directors)

Heidi Horn is the President of Heidi Horn HTM Consulting LLC. She brings deep expertise in healthcare technology management (HTM) and clinical engineering operations, holding a variety of executive leadership and strategy roles throughout her 20-plus year career. Heidi is well-known in the HTM community for her transformational work leading the HTM department at SSM Health for more than a decade. She also has deep roots in the healthcare industry with extensive involvement with AAMI including serving as chair-elect of AAMI's Technology Management Council (TMC). Heidi recently received AAMI's HTM Leadership Award and is an inaugural member of the AAMI Fellow program.

## Dr. Gerald McDonnell (Treasurer/Secretary, Board of Directors)

Gerald McDonnell is a Vice President for Microbiological Quality & Sterility Assurance at Johnson & Johnson. He serves as the global technical leader in the areas of microbiology and contamination control including cleaning, disinfection, sterilization, device processing and microbiology. Prior to Johnson & Johnson, Gerry was a Vice President of Scientific and Clinical Services for STERIS Corporation in Mentor, Ohio. He has a B.Sc. (Hons.) in Medical Laboratory Sciences and a Ph.D. in Microbial Genetics. Gerry has published over 180 publications and patents in the area, including the books *Block's Disinfection, Sterilization, and Preservation; A Practical Guide to Decontamination*; and *Antisepsis, Disinfection, and Sterilization: Types, Action and Resistance*. He is a member of national and international working groups for standard and guideline development, including AAMI, ASTM, ISO and EN committees. In addition to the AAMI Board of Directors, Gerry is a current member of the AAMI Standards Board, Standard Strategy Committee, and Kilmer Scholarship Fund committee.

### Ms. Jennifer Benolken (Director-at-Large, Board of Directors)

Jennifer Benolken earned her undergraduate degree in Manufacturing Systems Engineering from Kettering University in Flint, MI and her master's degree in International Management from the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, MN. She has worked in the medical device community since 1991 in a variety of packaging, labeling, and sterilization roles – from operations to R&D, at medical device manufacturers and suppliers to the industry, from individual contributor in engineering and sales to management in engineering and sales. Jen is currently a co-chair for AAMI's ST/WG 7, Packaging Working Group the sub-committee, US Expert and Secretary for ISO TC198/WG7, and sub-committee chairperson for ASTM F02.50, Package Design and Development. She is an active member of the Institute of Packaging Professionals (IoPP) where she attained her lifetime Certified Packaging Professional (CPPL) certification. She has served on IoPP's National Board of Directors and is currently Chair of its Medical Device Packaging Technical Committee (MDPTC). Jen has recently also been named co-chair of the Kilmer Collaboration Teams and is chair of its KiiP group. Jennifer is the editor for the upcoming 3rd edition of the *Medical Device Packaging Handbook*. She works with downstream customers at medical device and pharmaceutical organizations, providing education and answering questions about Tyvek® packaging and sterilization using her wide range of knowledge.

### Ms. Mary Ann Drosnock, DHSc, MS, RM (NRCM), CIC, CFER, FAPIC, AAMIF (Nominating Committee)

Mary Ann Drosnock is a skilled infection prevention professional with a doctoral (DHSc) degree in Health Science, an MS degree in Medical Device Quality and Regulatory Affairs, several professional certifications, and over twenty years of broad-based microbiology, infection control, endoscopy, and sterilization experience in the pharmaceutical, medical device, and academic industries. She possesses excellent oral and written communication skills, as demonstrated by speaking engagements at National and Regional Conferences and numerous published documents. She has served as co-chair of AAMI WG84, which is responsible for the ST91 Flexible Endoscope Reprocessing National Standard, for 9 years. Mary Ann is both an AAMI Fellow (AAMIF) and a Fellow of APIC (FAPIC).