AAMI Foundation & ACCE's Robert L. Morris Humanitarian Award

This award—honoring the late humanitarian Robert Morris—recognizes individuals or organizations whose humanitarian efforts have applied healthcare technology to improving global human conditions.

Candidates must demonstrate:

  • Active participation in meaningful worldwide healthcare technology related projects for at least three or more years.
  • A leading role in planning or implementing healthcare technology, international outreach or educational programs.
  • Volunteerism and altruistic components associated with these international projects.
  • Outstanding qualities as a positive role model, and a passion and dedication whether through work-related humanitarian efforts or through “extra-curricular activities” as exemplified by Robert Morris.

Candidates should demonstrate:

  • An impact on quality, accessibility, efficacy, and/or safety of health technology deployment and/or application in international regions.
  • Actions of sharing program outcomes through oral and/or printed mediums.
  • Facilitation to establish a sustainable program.

NOTE: This award is not limited to engineers; biomedical equipment technicians, engineers, physicians, computer software engineers, and government and non-profit employees may qualify.

Thanks to the generous support of ACCE, this award includes a check for $1,000 and a plaque, which will be presented at the 2020 AAMI Exchange in New Orleans, LA.

The deadline for 2020 nominations is January 6, 2020. To submit a nomination, fill out this online form

For more information, contact awards@aami.org.

The AAMI Foundation & ACCE's Robert L. Morris Humanitarian Award Winners

  • 2019 - William Gentles, PhD, CCE
  • 2018 – Robert M.S. Dickinson
  • 2017 – Adriana Velazquez Berumen
  • 2016 – Roy Morris, CBET
  • 2015 – Robyn W. Frick, CCE
  • 2014 – Ismael Cordero
  • 2013 – Edward P. Myers, Jr.
  • 2012 – Billy Teninty, CBET
  • 2011 – James Wear, PhD
  • 2010 – Thomas Judd, MS, CCE
  • 2010 – Brad Carrott
  • 2009 – J. Tobey Clark, CCE
  • 2008 – Yadin David, EdD, CCE, PE, HCSP
  • 2007 – Louis W. Schonder, CBET
  • 2006 – Robert Pagett
  • 2005 – David Harrington
  • 2004 – Alfred Jakniunas
  • 2003 – George I. Johnston, CCE
  • 2002 – Herman R. Weed, PE
  • 2001 – Robert Morris, CCE, PE


2019 Award Recipient

William Gentles
William Gentle, PhD, CCE

This year’s winner, William Gentles, was described as “a positive role model” with “a passion and dedication” for both humanitarian and clinical engineering (CE) efforts around the world. Gentles, who has 50 years of experience in the healthcare technology management (HTM) field, has been the leader of the Canadian Medical and Biological Engineering Society’s “Tools for Techs” project since 2017, which has provided crowdsourced cash grants to frontline HTM professionals in Ghana, Mongolia, Tanzania, and Rwanda to purchase badly needed tools so they can be more effective in their roles. He also has administered the INFRATECH International Email Discussion Group on CE/HTM sponsored by the World Health Organization and the Pan-American Health Organization for nearly 20 years. Gentles said he will be contributing the funds associated with his award to the Tools for Techs project.

For more information, contact awards@aami.org.