AAMI Foundation & Institute for Technology in Health Care Clinical Solution Award

This award honors a healthcare technology professional (individual or group) that has applied innovative clinical engineering practices or principles to solve one or more significant clinical patient care problems or challenges facing a patient population, community, or group.

Candidates must demonstrate:

  • Innovative and creative application of clinical engineering practices that fundamentally solved a problem or challenge that resulted in the improvement of healthcare delivery for (or well-being of) a patient population, community, or group.
  • That a solution was developed by an individual or group that works or is employed in a clinical setting (hospital, ambulatory clinic, learning institution, or other healthcare setting).

Candidates should demonstrate:

  • The results of a study that provides a practical solution of a patient care problem or challenge through the application of clinical engineering ingenuity. This should be a “published” study but not required.
  • That the solution can be applied by the broader medical or healthcare technology management (HTM) field in multiple clinical settings for the benefit of multiple patient populations, communities, or groups.
  • That the solution involved multiple disciplines or healthcare professionals including, but not limited to, information technology specialists, nurses, physicians, medical technicians, researchers, etc.
  • A solid and clear example of intention to promote the continued advancement of HTM applications and innovations to specific patient care problems or challenges.

Thanks to the generous support of the Institute for Technology in Health Care (ITHC), this award includes a check for $1,500 and a plaque.

The AAMI Foundation & ITHC Clinical Solution Award Winners 

2015 Texas Children's Hospital Alarm Management Team 2010 Elliot B. Sloane, PhD, CCE, FHIMSS
2014 Robert D. Butterfield 2009 Julian M. Goldman, MD
2013 Monitor Research Team, Children's National Medical Center 2006 Thomas M. Judd, CCE
2013 Lancaster General Hospital and Hospira 2005 Antonio Hernandez
2011 James P. Welch and George T. Blike, MD    

2016 Award Recipient

James Piepenbrink
James Piepenbrink

James Piepenbrink will be recognized for his commitment to combatting clinical alarm fatigue. At Boston Medical Center, Piepenbrink succeeded in reducing audible alarms from roughly 88,000 to 10,000 by creating a multidisciplinary team and prioritizing the problem across the organization.

The next deadline for nominations is to Feb. 15, 2017.

Link here to open the Nomination Form. For more information, contact Allison Rafti at +1-703-253-8296 or arafti@aami.org.