AAMI Foundation's Laufman-Greatbatch Award

This is AAMI's most prestigious award. Named after two pioneers in the field—Harold Laufman, MD and Wilson Greatbatch, PhD—this highly regarded award honors an individual or group that has made a unique and significant contribution to the advancement of healthcare technology and systems, service, patient care, or patient safety.

Candidates must demonstrate:

  • A significant, singular, and global impact on the advancement of patient care or patient safety through the advancement, development, enhancement, or creation of a specific medical device, technology, system, or service.
  • Groups or individuals who have made critical contributions to the enhancement of patient care through technology are eligible to receive this award.

The award includes a $5,000 check and a plaque to be presented at AAMI's Annual Conference.

Past Winners of the Laufman-Greatbatch Award

2014 Matthew B. Weinger, MD 1995 John Watson, PhD
2013 Carl Bruch, PhD 1994 Robert Arzbaecher, PhD
2012 David Bates 1993 Craig J. Hartley, PhD
2011 Timothy Vanderveen, PharmD 1992 Otto Herbert Schmitt, PhD
2010 Neal E. Fearnot, PhD 1991 Allen Latham, Jr.
2009 Forrest M. Bird, MD 1989 Paul C. Lauterbur, PhD
2008 Jack Harrington 1988 Michel Mirowski, MD
2007 Willis A. Tacker, Jr., MD, PhD 1987 Leslie A. Geddes, ME, PhD
2006 Nathaniel Sims, MD 1985 Dwight E. Harken, MD
2005 Maynard Ramsey, III, MD, PhD 1984 Clarence Dennis
2004 Dr. George J. Magovern, Sr., MD 1983 Charles A. Mistretta, PhD
2003 David Hood, Steve Alexander, Matthew Hanson, Todd Kneale, and Terry Domae 1982 Wilson Greatbatch, PE
2002 David E. Flinchbaugh, PhD, PE 1981 Reginald C. Eggleton
2000 Thomas Fogarty, MD 1980 Martin H. Wilcox
2001 Huntly D. Millar 1979 Norman J. Holter, DSc
1999 Adrian Kantrowitz, MD 1978 Godfrey N. Hounsfield
1998 Earl E. Bakken 1977 Willem Johan Kolff, MD, PhD
1997 Alan Berson, PhD 1976 Robert F. Rushmer, MD
1996 John G. Webster, PhD 1975 Barouh V. Berkovits

2014 Award Recipient

Matthew Weinger
Matthew B. Weinger, MD

The next deadline for nominations is Feb. 15, 2016.

Link here to open the Nomination Form. For more information, contact Allison Rafti at +1-703-253-8296 or arafti@aami.org.